The Opening Ceremonies of the Conference will be dedicated to the presentation of the London Memorial Prize, the Simon Memorial Prize and IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Low Temperature Physics.  This arrangement carry on the tradition of presenting the London Prize, the Simon Prize (since LT24) and the Young Scientist Prize (since LT25) at the LT International Conference.

IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Low Temperature Physics 2014

The IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Low Temperature Physics will be awarded to the following three scientists during the Conference. Invited presentations will be also made. 

    • Cory R. Dean [The City College of New York, USA]: For his development of graphene on boron nitride and subsequent discovery of the Hofstadter's butterfly.
    • Leonardo DiCarlo [Delft Univeristy of Technology, the Netherlands]: For his outstanding low-temperature experiments on semiconducting and superconducting mesoscopic circuits, and for establishing an innovative research program on measurement and feedback control of superconducting qubits.
    • Mathieu Le Tacon [MPI for Solid State Research, Germany]: For his innovative photon scattering experiments elucidating spin and charge ordering phenomena and excitations in high-temperature superconductors and other correlated-electron materials.

 Fritz London Memorial Prize 2014

The Fritz London Memorial Prize is an international prize awarded once every three years and which is intended to recognize outstanding experimental and theoretical contributions to low temperature physics.

 Background information and a list of previous London Prize winners can be found at The members of the 2014 London Memorial Prize Committee are: M.H.W. Chan (Pennsylvania State University), Steven Girvin(Yale U.) Dale van Harlingen   (U. of Illinois), P. Leiderer (U of Konstanz, Germany), and D. Osheroff (Stanford U.) 

The London prize 2014 has been awarded to Michel Devoret, John Martinis and Robert Schoelkopf.

 Simon Memorial Prize 2014

This international prize, established in 1957, to commemorate the outstanding contributions to science of Sir Francis Simon, is awarded for distinguished work in experimental or theoretical low temperature physics. There are no restrictions on the nationality of the recipient(s).

A list of previous winners can be found at

The members of the 2014 Simon Prize Selection Committee are:

Chair: J C Seamus Davis (Cornell, USA), Kimitoshi Kono (RIKEN, Japan), George Pickett (Lancaster, UK), Gerd Schön (Karlsruhe, Germany), John Saunders (ex officio, Chair of IoP LT group).

The Simon Prize 2014 has been won by Peter Woefle, “For fundamental contributions to the theory of quantum transport processes in superfluid 3He, heavy fermion superconductors and disordered metals”.